Distinguished Speaker Luncheon

The Distinguished Speaker Luncheon is held each fall in honor of our faculty and staff, and serves as an outreach to the community as we include parents, grandparents, alumni and friends. All proceeds from the annual luncheon go directly to pay for Christmas gifts for Second Baptist faculty members and salary increases in the following year. 
During the luncheon, we also take the opportunity to honor an alumnus for their contributions and alumni parents for their support of Second Baptist School over the years.

Current DSL Event

The tenth annual Distinguished Speaker Luncheon, chaired by the Adickes and the Vick families, celebrated the SBS faculty and staff in a big way, raising the second highest amount in the event's history, more than $430,000! Over 800 guests were treated to a beautiful and moving rendition of "God Bless America," from select members of the upper school's Vision Choir.

Distinguished speakers Lance Berkman and Andy Pettitte, both current SBS parents, shared tidbits of life in the MLB through a comical and candid interview. Specifically, they shared about what it meant to be a Christian in the secular industry of professional athletics. As American as the apple pie served for dessert that day, these baseball legends explained what SBS means to them and their families, telling of its importance in growing their children spiritually as well as academically. 

Additionally, the school recognized two important pairs of people in the SBS family. Lesha and Tom Elsenbrook, parents to Evan ‘05, Seth ‘08 and Elyse ‘12, were given the distinction of Distinguished Alumni Parents for their incredible contributions to this school and their greater community. Amanda and Kirk Craig, both from the class of 1996, were honored as the Distinguished Alumni this year for the great change they are making in Houston’s Third Ward through their ministry, Agape Development. Four of their children attend SBS currently, with the fifth beginning in the fall of 2016.

DSL Committee

List of 1 items.

  • DSL Committee Chairs

    Jackie and Mark Adickes
    Amanda and Trey Vick
    Liz and Dan Baker 
    Jennifer and Doug ‘89 Daniels
    Kimberly and David Dominy 
    Lesha and Tom Elsenbrook 
    Carrie ‘92 and Ryan Holcomb 
    Terri and Jim Huguenard 
    Ann and Michael Jobe 
    Lindy and Randy Price
    Judy and Matt Ramsey 
    Anna and Todd Reppert 
    Becca ’89 and Scott Schwinger 
    Julie and Wayne Wiesen
    Heather and Matt Aycock
    Rachel and Jeff Bagwell
    Ashley and Jay Brown
    Vanessa and Chris Bruegger
    Kimberly and Robert Chambers
    Sarah and Brian Crawmer
    Kristal ’95 and Travis Crites
    Jerry Dearing
    April and Joe DiCecco
    Penny and David Dodd
    Dana and John Doughtie
    Maureen and Russel Holt
    Christy Little
    Amy and Brett Moody
    Rosanne and David Oelfke
    Tracy and Gary Pedersen
    Becky and Paul Piro
    Holly and David Spurlin
    Becca and Christopher Thomas
    Melissa ’92 and Ted Tredennick
    Jenny and Jeff Venghaus
    Angela and Jeff Williams
    Kim and Lance Wright