E-mail E-mail Share Share

Distinguished Speaker

What is the Distinguished Speaker Luncheon?
Second Baptist School held the ninth annual Distinguished Speaker Luncheon on Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at the Hilton Americas in Downtown Houston. Over the last nine years this has been a powerful, inspirational and affirming event for the Second Baptist School community.
Who Benefits?
The money raised at the annual Distinguished Speaker Luncheon held in the fall goes directly to pay for a Christmas bonus for our faculty, as well as salary increases in the upcoming year.
Who is Major Dan Rooney?
Major Dan Rooney is the founder of the Folds of Honor Foundation, a veteran F-16 Fighter Pilot with 3 combat tours in Iraq, the founder of The Patriot Golf Club, a PGA Professional, and author of A Patriot’s Calling—Living Life between Fear and Faith. He was the only motivational team speaker for the US Ryder Cup team in Wales, an amazing opportunity that has been historically reserved for Presidents. Folds of Honor, a non-profit organization, provides scholarships to the spouses and children of military service members disabled or killed in action. In five short years Folds of Honor has raised over $35 million and awarded nearly 5500 scholarships to the family members KIA or disabled in combat. A Major in the Air National Guard and a decorated military aviator, he is a two-time recipient of the Top Gun award and was honored with the Spirit of Attack award as a top graduate of F-16 training. He has received many decorations to include the Air Force Commendation Medal, Air Medal, Anti-terrorism Medal, Combat Readiness Medal and Air Expeditionary Medal.
For his service and patriotism—Rooney was presented the White House's “Presidential Volunteer Service Award” by President George W. Bush, the Air National Guard's “Distinguished Service Medal”, the Air National Guard’s “Directors Service Award” and the Ellis Island “Medal of Honor”. He was honored at The Masters Invitational with the “William D. Richardson Award” for his outstanding contributions to golf and received the PGA of America's first-ever “Patriot Award”. He has been recognized as one of People Magazine's “Heroes of the Year”, Money Magazine’s “Hero of the Year” and ABC World News Tonight's “Persons of the Year”. He is a “Significant Sigma Chi” and was featured on NBC World News Making a Difference report. Rooney founded The Patriot, a Robert Trent Jones, Jr.-designed course in Tulsa, Oklahoma. It is currently ranked 42nd among American golf courses in Golf Week’s Modern Top 100. The Patriot is home to the Folds of Honor Foundation headquarters.
Why Give?
"We contribute to the Distinguished Speaker Luncheon for a very simple reason: we give because we deeply appreciate the teachers at Second Baptist School—teachers who give so much to the students they teach and coach.  Fielden has had remarkable teachers at Second Baptist.  Each has contributed to a strong academic foundation for him and helped him to see God at work in his world.  We believe that by giving to the Distinguished Speakers Luncheon, we help insure that excellent teachers can be attracted and retained to continue to impact the lives of SBS students."
The Baker Family
Liz, Dan, and Fielden (’19)
Previous Speakers
Eric Metaxas '13
Best-selling author, speaker and TV host.

Laura Bush '12
Former First Lady Laura Bush started her speech by praising Second Baptist teachers who are dedicated to making lifelong learners and servants.
Read More

Dr. Ben Carson '11
Pioneering Neurosurgeon, Philanthropist and Journalist

Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy '10
from The Blind Side

J.C. Watts '09
Former US Congressman of Oklahoma

Dave Drevecky '08
Former Major League Baseball Pitcher

Michael Reagan '07
Eldest son of Ronald Reagan and nationally syndicated radio program host

Oliver North '06
Former United States Marine Corps Lieutenant Colonel
Contact and Hours
Julie Applegate
Director of Advancement
Allison Dow
Event Coordinator
Joleen Evans
Event Coordinator

Dyanne Kimmel

System Specialist/Advancement
Publications Liaison
Jamie Coons

Nancy Merritt

Accounts Payable and Gifts Officer

Courtney Frank
Annual Giving Officer

Office Hours: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM          Phone Number: 713.365.2310                     Fax Number: 713.365.2355